SCAD announces 2010 Savannah Film Festival competition films and jurors

The Savannah College of Art and Design has announced the competition film lineup and jurors for its 13th annual Savannah Film Festival, scheduled for Oct. 30-Nov. 6 in historic downtown Savannah.

Competition Films (for a complete list of all competition films, please contact

Competitions will be held in the categories of narrative features, documentary features, professional shorts, animated shorts and student entries.

This year’s films in competition come from almost a dozen different countries including Cambodia, Japan, Brazil, Germany, Australia, the United Kingdom and Uzbekistan.

Among the 35 films in competition are:

• Academy Award-nominated filmmaker Bill Plympton’s animated short, “The Cow Who Wanted to be a Hamburger” about a cow seduced by advertising and led down the path of butchers and carnivores.

• Emmy Award-nominated MTV animator Patrick Smith’s musical short, “Masks,” a “Fantasia”-like animated interpretation of the music of rock musician Karl von Kries.

• “Dressed,” the inspirational story of fashion designer Nary Manivong, who defied the odds of a broken childhood and homelessness to follow his dream of showing his collection at New York's Fashion Week.

• “Quadrangle,” a compelling documentary about two middle-class couples, encouraged by the free-love zeitgeist of the '60s and '70s, who find a way out of their disappointing marriages by striking up an unusual four-way love affair.

• “Night Catches Us,” a feature film starring Anthony Mackie of “The Hurt Locker,” is about one man in 1976 dealing with the aftermath of the black power movement.

• “The Kid,” starring Rupert Friend of “Young Victoria,” is an adaptation of the best-selling memoir of the same name about a young man, beaten and bullied at home, who becomes caught up in the criminal underworld of London, where he was known as “The Kid.”

Competition Jurors

The jurors for this year’s Film Festival include:

• James Foley, director, “Glengarry Glen Ross,” “At Close Range,” TV’s “Twin Peaks”

• Lisa Gillian, head of production and development for Red Om Films, Julia Roberts’ production company

• Lynn Hirshfeld, Participant Media’s senior vice president of publishing, involved in production of “The Kite Runner,” “Charlie Wilson’s War,” “Good Night and Good Luck,” “An Inconvenient Truth”

• Alicia Lipinski, vice president of development at Headlong Entertainment

• Stephen Nathan, executive producer for the television series, “Bones.” Emmy nominee for writing “Tracey Takes On…” Produced “Laverne & Shirley,” “Everybody Loves Raymond” and “Joan of Arcadia”

• Amy Robinson, producer, “Julie & Julia,” “After Hours.” Actress, “Mean Streets”

• Kaila York, founder of Headlong Entertainment, a literary management and film production company

For more information on the films in competition, visit
Further information about the Savannah Film Festival, including special screenings and guests, is forthcoming.


Featuring the best in independent and innovative film from around the world, the Savannah Film Festival presents a full range of cinematic creativity from both award-winning professionals and emerging student filmmakers, bringing world-renowned filmmakers, producers, actors and journalists, as well as other film enthusiasts, to SCAD and Savannah for eight days of feature films, lectures, workshops, panels and competition films from a range of genres.

Highlights of the festival include intimate “coffee talks” with film professionals, Q & A panels, lectures and special screenings.

Last year’s Savannah Film Festival previewed award-winning films prior to their release, including “The Hurt Locker,” “Precious,” “Up in the Air,” “The White Ribbon,” “An Education” and “The Men Who Stare at Goats,” among others. The Festival played host to Woody Harrelson, Ben Foster, Jeremy Renner, Hugh Dancy, Emmy Rossum and Patricia Clarkson.

Past festival guests and honorees include John Waters, John Sayles, James Franco, James Ivory, Jeff Daniels, Alec Baldwin, Peter Bart, Roger Ebert, Terrence Malick, Sydney Pollack, the Redgrave siblings (Vanessa, Lynn and Corin), Malcolm McDowell and Milos Forman, among others.

Passes to the Savannah Film Festival will be available for purchase through the SCAD box office, 216 E. Broughton St., online at or by phone at 912.525.5050.


Individual tickets to screenings and workshops will be available through the SCAD box office beginning Friday, October 1 at 10 a.m. Morning and afternoon screenings and panels will be $5 for the general public; $3 for students, seniors and military; and free for SCAD students, faculty and staff with a valid SCAD ID.

The price for tickets to the evening screenings will be $10 for the general public and $5 for SCAD students, faculty and staff with a valid SCAD ID.

The Savannah Film Festival schedule is subject to change.

0 Response to "SCAD announces 2010 Savannah Film Festival competition films and jurors"

Post a Comment